Sweet Chili Pork Skewers

5 11 2007

My co-worker asked me if I can make him something for the potluck as well. And since I love cooking for other people and helping them out, I said yes and decided to make him Sweet Chili Pork Skewers:

catering_appetizers_skewers.jpg

1/4 cup Sweet chili Sauce
1 tbsp Tomato Ketchup
1 tsp Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce
2 cloves Garlic, minced
2 tbsp. Soy Sauce
1 tsp. Brown Sugar
Medium size Bamboo skewers (about 25 pcs) submerged in water for about 30 mins.
Cilantro to garnish

Directions:
To make the sauce, combine all the ingredients in a large bowl. Add the chicken pieces to the sauce and stir to coat thoroughly. Transfer them to a roasting pan and arrange in a single layer. Let sit in the refrigirator for about 25-30 minutes to marinate. While waiting, preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
Transfer the roasting pan to the oven and cook the chicken for 20 minutes, or until cooked through and sticky. Garnish with cilantro.





Mini Chicken skewers and Tzatziki Sauce

5 11 2007

This Wednesday, my work will be having a potluck in celebration of a momentus event for our company. To celebrate, we were given 2 choices, potluck or company paid lunch at a pizza place. And Potluck got the most votes! I see a lot of people love to cook and for me, of course I picked Potluck…it would give me a chance to display my culinary expertise. I won’t be making anything fancy but I think people will enjoy them. I’ll be making Mini Chicken skewers and on the side, Tzatziki Sauce… a Greek sauce made from yogurt, diced cucumber and garlic, used as a dip or condiment. It is usually seen inside Falafels. Make the Tzatziki first because it will need a couple of hours to chill before serving.

31.jpg

To make Tzatziki sauce:

2 1/2 cups plain yogurt
4 Garlic cloves chopped finely
2 medium Cucumbers, peeled, seeded and very finely diced
1 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
3 tbsp Lemon Juice
Salt and Pepper to taste
Paprika to garnish

Place all ingredients in a serving bowl and stir together until well combined. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.

yakitori.jpg

5-7 skinless boneless chicken breast, cut in about 1/2 inch thick and cubed (I will be making them pretty small so 5-7 will do)
1/4 cup Cilantro, cut into small pieces
1/4 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
2 cloves Garlic, minced
3 tsp Lemon (use more or less depending on your taste)
25 medium sized bamboo skewers (submerged in water for about 30 mins before cooking chicken)
Salt and pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients together and add chicken. Refrigerate the chicken for a couple of hours to marinate. Once done marinating, preheat oven to 375 degrees, place chicken in skewers and place in oven for about 20-25 minutes or until golden.